The federal Coronavirus Response and Relief Supplemental Appropriations Act (CRRSA), was signed into law on December 27, 2020 and provides additional funding for the Governor's Emergency Relief (GEER) Fund. Montana has $3.9 million in available GEER II funds.

Application Criteria

GEER II funds will be awarded to PK-12 education-related entities which have been most significantly impacted by COVID-19*. The funds must be used to prevent, prepare for, or respond to COVID-19 as it relates to the delivery of education services. Governor Gianforte is committed to expanding learning opportunities for all Montana students by bridging technology divides. To that end, the Governor will award GEER II funds to PK-12 education related entities whose proposals expand internet, technology, and/or remote learning access. GEER II allocations will be made and monitored by the Montana Office of Budget & Program Planning.

*Applications from K-12 Public Schools Districts will not be considered due to the large share of ESSER funding they received through CARES, CRRSAA, ARPA, and CRF.

Allowable Uses

  1. Broadband connection enhancements,
  2. IT hardware, software, and other technology to support remote learning or enhance digital learning in the classroom,
  3. Remote learning opportunities beyond what the educational entity is currently offering, or
  4. Professional development related to remote instruction.

Questions can be directed to Nancy Hall, Lead Budget Analyst, 406-444-4899 or Dylan Klapmeier, Governor's Education Policy Advisor, 406-444-3188.

State of Montana